The House of Sherbet by Simon Dale


The House of Sherbet by Simon DaleAfter a long time that I haven’t review anything in here, I’m back with The House of Sherbet, Simon Dale’s debut novel.

Here’s a summary:

Thirteen year old Jake spends Christmas with his parents at the Oakhouse, the once grand, now decrepit home to his grandfather. Jake quickly begins to realise that the Oakhouse and Granddad Sherbet are not all they seem. On Christmas Eve, Jake’s parents disappear, only to reappear six inches tall and having been turned to wood. ??Granddad Sherbet, together with his octogenarian friends, prepares to steal Jake’s youth and nascent magical powers.

For a long while, I haven’t read anything. It was summer here in the Philippines and I’ve been too busy hanging out with my friends, writing my own novel, or busy being a regular burden to my parents–but after reading this, I suddenly missed the days I’ve spent reading in my room.

In my own opinion, the first few chapters of the story was slow paced. Having said that, it didn’t stop me from continuing reading because of the dark theme of the story with the touch of magic. However, I was warned by Simon himself that it had the touch of goth in its story but it didn’t bother me.

I also loved Granddad Sherbet’s character. I think I loved him more than I liked Jake because of the richness of the character, and mystery that he holds. He started off as an amiable character then he became this whimsical, pernicious, selfish character. And as if he wasn’t enough, his friends were more wicked than he was.

However, Jake is also a great character to follow. He was strong-willed, wanting to save his parents from his Granddad, proving that he was a great hero in a story. He really grew as a character, and became even more interesting in the middle of the story just as it moved from slow to fast paced.

The House of Sherbet was a short novel but I loved every moment of it. Even the supporting characters added to my interest in reading the story further. And I believe that this would work to all readers, of any ages. It holds a lot of mystery and secrets, with too many twists and turns that would make you say Aha!

I’m giving this story a five-out-five-stars, and here is hoping for a sequel!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Simon Dale, The House of Sherbet

Leave a Reply

