My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra


Enjoyable, intriguing, and breath-taking.

Its synopsis says:

When Zack asks Jasmine to pretend to be his ex-girlfriend, she gamely agrees, thinking it would be fun. A few years later, she still has to keep convincing people that they were never together! Then one day, she finds out he’s getting married—to someone she’d just met once! All of a sudden, things aren’t so clear-cut anymore. Can Jasmine sort out her feelings (sometimes, she can’t even tell real from pretend when it comes to her and Zack) before it’s too late?

I really enjoyed this novella by Mina V. Esguerra. At the beginning, I must admit that I didn’t understand how the story really goes. I was like, “What the hell is happening?” when Lena tells Jasmine that she wants her to break Zack and Kimmy up. I was confused at first but it is totally understandable because the story was written in a nonlinear narrative way. But along the confusion is the intrigued feeling. The way it was written made me want to keep on turning pages and continue exploring the story. And by continuing reading, I learned that the story is complete with characters such as the protagonist, the love interest, the interesting side characters/accomplice, and the antagonist. And I must say, the antagonist, Kimmy, that bitch, really did piss me off! However, what truly took my breath away was when Zack and Jasmine finally made up and had that wild sex. That’s why I gave this short novel a five-star-rating!

Intelligent writing! I definitely recommend you guys to buy this one! Or at least, you who live here in the Philippines. (It’s not available outside the country 😦 ) On the good note, it gets five out of five stars from me!

1 Comment

Filed under Mina V. Esguerra, My Imaginary Ex

One response to “My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. Pingback: Interview: Mina V. Esguerra | From Page One…

Leave a comment