Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra


Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra First of all, I would just like to inform you all that this is the first book I was able to read so I think it’s reasonable why I chose this as the first book I’ll feature here in my blog. Also, one factor is that I really got hooked by its story. This is also the book that made me want to read more. Thankfully, I was able to catch Mina V. Esguerra‘s post on her Facebook page saying that she’s giving away this as “gift” for the Philippines’ Independence day. Along with the post is the code which made downloading it for free possible. Immediately, I signed up at Smashwords, downloaded this e-book, and read it. For two to three hours, I was able to finish the book, complete with CR breaks, and snack break.

Here’s its synopsis:

Of all the twenty-something women who are hopeless romantics, Ellie Manuel is more “hopeless” than “romantic.”

Even after her Prince Charming broke up with her, she just won’t give up … because fairy tale heroines don’t live “happily ever after” right away, silly, they’re tested first!

Determined to pass the test, she spends the next year restoring herself to the girl Prince Charming had fallen in love with in the first place.

Until she discovers that life without him might not be so bad after all: her career is taking off, her confidence is back, and the cute guy at work is no longer a stranger.

So when is it okay to quit on a fairy tale?

At some point while I was reading the story, I thought Ellie is going to be just another typical chick lit heroine who wanted nothing else but to be a fairy tale princess. And I thought right! Maybe there was this line when Ellie said “[she] wasn’t obsessed with being a fairy tale princess” but that was not the truth. Well, at least at the beginning. Having said that, I still really enjoyed reading it.

Here’s one of my many favorite parts of the story:

“Some people are just better as friends,” Lucas said. “Maybe that’s the lesson you have to learn too.”

“Hey my therapy time is over. This is your time now.”

“What I’m saying,” Lucas said, clearing his throat, “is that being friends with someone doesn’t mean they’ll always be loyal to you. Or that they’ll always be the kind of person you knew.”

Mina V. Esguerra did a great job writing Fairy Tale Fail! Reading it wasn’t like I’m reading it at all. Rather, it was like somebody’s telling me the story inside my head. (Or maybe that’s what really happens when you read with your eyes and not with your mouth.) Also, I loved how the story between Ellie and Lucas evolved from being somewhat-strangers, to friends, to something more. And the two of them are very, very likeable!

I’m giving this novel a four-star rating… But why did I give it four stars instead of five? Because the story will leave you craving for more! And I hate hunger…

This is an interesting story! I’m sure everyone will love this!

3 Comments

Filed under Fairy Tale Fail, Mina V. Esguerra

3 responses to “Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. This is the first book of Mina’s that I ever read. I bought it on a whim because I wanted to read more books by Filipino authors and I’m glad I did. This is my favorite out of all her books because I can relate to Ellie and her corporate lifestyle, especially the part where she can’t wait for the end of her work day. 😀

  2. In my part, there’s nothing that I can relate to on her characters. The only thing about them that I liked is that they sounded so real. But despite that fact, all of Mina’s stories are very easy to read. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra « Off The Wall

Leave a Reply

